Sunday, April 02, 2006

The Brokedown

Los Angeles-based five-piece The Brokedown formed in 2004, comprising band members Ross Flournoy, Dan Iead, Rob McCorkindale, Brian Whelan and Scott Claassen. Their May 2005 self-released EP, The Dutchman's Gold (from which this track is taken, and which is available direct from the band for $9 including shipping), has met with a positive response from bloggers, reviewers and internet radio stations alike, and the band's been attracting yet more favourable attention playing live shows with the likes of Evan Dando, Portastatic, Lucinda Williams and The Rosebuds, as well as playing this year's SXSW; so it comes as quite a surprise to find that they're as yet unsigned. They're currently in the process of mixing their debut album, and if the songs you can hear on their website and MySpace page are anything to go by, it's going to be something of a must-buy.

MP3: Down In The Valley

No comments: